Nextcloud · Report #1706248
Guests can continue to receive video streams from call after being removed from a conversation
Summary
Security advisory at https://github.com/nextcloud/security-advisories/security/advisories/GHSA-wx6w-xpg9-6fv4
How it was found
Summary:
If the HPB is used and a guest is removed from a conversation while said guest is in a call the guest will no longer appear in the participant list and the call will appear as ended for the other participants. However, for the guest the call UI is still shown. If other participants start a call the guest will automatically establish connections with them (so she will be able to hear and see the other participants), but from the point of view of the rest of the participants the guest is not in the call and she is not shown in their UI.
This can be reproduced only for guests and when the HPB is used. It could be related to https://github.com/nextcloud/spreed/issues/7962
Steps To Reproduce:
- Setup the HPB
- Create a public conversation
- In a private window, open that public conversation as a guest
- Start a call
- In the original window, delete the guest
- Start a call again
Expected result
The guest was kicked out from the call and she can not see nor hear the participants joining after that
Actual result
The guest was, according to the system messages for other participants, kicked out from the call, but the call UI is still shown for her and connections will be established to participants joining after that (and those new participants will not be aware of the guest being still in the call)
Impact
An attacker would be able to spy on calls in a public conversation after being removed from that conversation, provided that she was removed while being in the call.