Nextcloud · Report #1784310
Messages can still be seen on conversation after expiring when cron is misconfigured
Validstatus
lowseverity
15upvotes
27 Feb 2023disclosed
Summary
Security advisory at https://github.com/nextcloud/security-advisories/security/advisories/GHSA-j53p-r755-v4jf
How it was found
Summary:
Nextcloud talk has a feature called Message Expiration, Chat messages can be expired after a certain time. However the message does not really expire and can still be seen by anyone.
Steps To Reproduce:
- Create a conversation
- Set the message expiration Go to Settings > Moderation
- Pick anything and using burp intercept the request and set it to 60 or 120 seconds.
- send a message
- wait for the message to expire
- Copy the conversation link and open it to a new tab
Supporting Material/References:
[list any additional material (e.g. screenshots, logs, etc.)]
██████████
Impact
Messages that should expired is divulged to anyone that can access the conversation, This includes personal and group.