Weblate · Report #230076
Takeover of an account via reset password options after removing the account
Validstatus
lowseverity
7upvotes
13 Jun 2017disclosed
How it was found
Hi,
The Reset password mechanism can't validate or authenticate an user properly. After removing a user account it's possible to takeover the user account by using reset password option. which is turn into takeover an account.
Step to Reproduce:
- Go to weblate
- Remove your account from weblate
- Now go to for login
- Enter username or email and password, try to login. you are failed to login because email and password is removed
- Now click on reset it
- Enter email and captcha and hit
Reset my password{F186309} - Open mail and click on reset password link {F186311}
- Now enter Password twice and login to the account
After doing all the steps you are successfully able to change the password. {F186313}
Thanks