Shopify · Report #273099
User with removed manage shops permissions is still able to make changes to a shop
Summary
@flashdisk reported that revoking access from a staff member in the partner dashboard did not log them out of the admin areas of shops they had logged into.
He also reported that, as a further implication, the partner would still have access to embedded apps they might have logged into. This is expected and something we were already aware of, as Shopify has no way to let apps know of a user logging out at this time. Sessions managed by apps are separate from admin sessions by design.
How it was found
#Description
it has been noticed that when a partner account user with manage shops permissions installs app in the one of the managed shops he can still be able to make changes to the shop through that app although his manage shops permissions were revoked on partners.shopify.com.
#POC
-
create partners account on partners.shopify.com and add staff member with
manage shopspermissions. -
create development store and login to the store with the created staff account with
manage shopspermissions. -
install order printer app and access that app and press on
manage templatesbutton and create template. -
after creating the template press on
deletefor the created template and intercept the request with burp, don;t send it. -
go to https://partners.shopify.com/664398/memberships and remove
manage shopspermissions for the staff account. -
send the request from step 4 and you will notice that the template was deleted although the user doesn't have
manage shopspermissions.
#NOTE
I also tested this Bulk Discounts app and it gave me permissions to create new discount code for each order although I was missing the manage shops permissions.
#IMPACT a partner staff member can make drastic changes to a store after revoking his permissions.
thanks.