HexBrain

Nextcloud · Report #889243

Re-Sharing allows increase of privileges

Validstatus
mediumseverity
92upvotes
28 Sept 2020disclosed

How it was found

  • User A shares a file/folder to user B with re-sharing permission, but readonly
  • User B shares this file/folder to User C (Needs the shareapi_default_permissions set to 1 (all checkmarks off in admin panel))
  • User B can add write permissions for the share to User C (User C may also be anonymous using a link)
  • User C gets write access and can edit existing files

Impact

User can get write permission on read-only shared files/folders.

This report was disclosed publicly on HackerOne and belongs to its author and the program. See the original